The European Certification System


The European Certification System (ECS) was created in order to rationalise the decision mechanisms of the European Certification Schemes and reduce as much as feasible the number of separate meetings needed for the management and administration of these Schemes. As such, the ECS replaces the CIG and the EECC and integrates the activities and meetings of the signatories and stakeholders of CCA, ENEC, Keymark EMS01 and CCA-EMC.


The general purpose of the ECS is:

  1. The management and development of the activities falling within the scope of the following agreements/schemes (hereinafter referred to as “Schemes”): CCA, ENEC, Keymark EMS01 and CCA-EMC.
  2. The technical management of the Schemes.
  3. The management of the Schemes' peer assessment activities.


To pursue its general purpose, the activities of the ECS include:

  1. To prepare and issue Permanent and Operational Documents for the Schemes.
  2. To set rules for, and decide on, the admission of Certification Bodies and Testing Laboratories
  3. To fix the scope of the Schemes.
  4. To decide on, and maintain lists of the standards covered by the different CBs and TLs.
  5. To set operating procedures and general matters linked with peer assessment.
  6. To liaise with the IECEE Secretariat in the area of common peer assessment activities.
  7. To monitor the activities of the Operational Staff Meetings (OSMs). The ECS confirms the election of the Chairmen of the OSMs (HAR OSM excluded).
  8. To set operating procedures linked with factory inspections.
  9. To set operating procedures of OSMs.
  10. To set rules for the use of test facilities of Manufacturers’ Test Laboratories.
  11. To prepare Test Report Forms (TRFs).
  12. All other activities that the ECS deems necessary for the good management and development of European Certification of electrical products, such as, among others, the fight against the counterfeiting of products and marks and the maintaining and developing of an effective communication between Signatories and Stakeholders.


European Certification System - Executive Committee

The ECS Executive Committee is composed of the following eight members:

  1. Chairman
  2. Vice-Chairman – Schemes
  3. Vice-Chairman – Technical
  4. Vice-Chairman – Manufacturers
  5. Member at large
  6. Member at large
  7. Member at large
  8. Member - Representative of the HAR Scheme

The President of EEPCA is Chairman of the ECS General Meeting and the ECS Executive Committee. Committee members nr 2 to 7 are elected by the ECS General Meeting for terms of office of four years, with possibility of re-election. Committee member nr 8 is the HAR Chairman.